[of excel & e-TestingSecurity]

Genie in a Lamp

A man was walking along a beach when he found a lamp. Upon rubbing the lamp a genie appeared who stated “I am the most powerful genie in the world. Because I am so powerful, I can grant you any wish you want, but only one wish.”

The man pulled out a map of the Mediterranean area and said “I’d like there to be peace among the people in the middle east.” The genie responded, “Gee, I don’t know. Those people have been fighting since the beginning of time. They are always going to be fighting. I can do just about anything, but this is beyond my limits.”

The man then said, “Well, my staff is switching to Excel. I wonder if you could teach them this VBA thing.”Genie: “Uh, let me see that map again

http://j-walk.com/ss/jokes/genie.htm

right after my upsr my mom sent me for a computer class which basically thought me the basic stuffs in microsoft office (the very2 old version of course). so, when i was in high school, i only need to take access and intro to webpage. but i’m so lazy for computer class in high school. they just didn’t seem to be interesting enough. probably because the server was always down and it took ages for those computer to run smoothly. but i’m sure they have more ‘canggih’ facilities nowadays. anyways, by that time, i thought i already knew almost everything about excel (duh!). for me it’s just spreadsheets that we use to make name lists, recording marks, etc. and it never crosses my mind, that companies use excel in their daily operations.

freshmen year in college – cmpsc203 : business programming.
sounds like an interesting and cool course isn’t it? and guess what i’ve to learn: EXCEL! this time, i knew that excel is more than only spreadsheets. it can be used for making statistical decisions, doing market analysis, etc. we also did those macros thinggy which is somehow related to VBA programming (ouh..now, that’s why it’s call programming class). and recently in a phone interview, the interviewer told me that if (which is a big IF) i get the intern position, i’ll be working with excel and playing around with macros and add-ons. even most of my hw in my insurance classes need me to use excel. guess, need to explore more about excel. perhaps, need to buy an excel book.hmm.. we’ll see…


dsc03277.jpg

see that ticket. it was like a boarding pass for me to sit for an exam. had my astro midterm in the new e-testing Lab. the lab is pretty impressive. it was “designed to ensure the highest level of security possible.” especially for those web classes. a friend described the experience of walking into the lab as like going through an immigration checkpoint. they even provide a big blue bag (macam guni) for those who doesn’t have a backpack to put in their jackets, bottled waters, umbreallas, etc. and of course it is equipped with surveillance camera 24/7.

pics from imagearchive.psu.edu : album

but those pics were taken during the renovation.

have a great weekend!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. yaya
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 21:45:41

    waa..tk pndai gune excel.jakun gle yaya.duluh ms skolah die ajr gune word jek.isk
    daju!yaya ade jugaks pass masok exm tuh.rs cm lalu imegresen kt airport.ehehe.membe yaya ckp cm nk cek terrorist.

  2. dyx dzu
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 06:55:44

    i fail excel. tak pandai langsung..basic sajer.hhaa

  3. nk's
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 12:37:55

    excel is a lot of work.
    but if u could work it.
    it’ll later work for you.

    huh?
    hehe 😀

  4. daju
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 23:04:35

    hehh yaya..tu la kann..tp best je tmpt tuh..canggih2..

    keje xyah guna excel ke..xapply cimb lg..

    it’ll work for me..definitely!!

  5. Nur Amirah Shaharom
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 13:06:33

    wah2 daju.. amik le beberape keping gmbo lab letak kat cni. teringin plok nak tau cmne rupenye lab tu.. 🙂
    em, lab memang menarik. saya suka lab! haha..

  6. Nur Amirah Shaharom
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 13:20:30

    one more thing lah daju.. I’ve just accidentally deleted your recent comment on my blog.. huhu.. mntak maaf sesangat. things happened too fast.. tak smpat bace pun comment daju mase moderation tu. huhu.. tersangatlah kesal.

  7. daju
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 01:51:38

    if ade report bout the new lab kt collegian with pics..daju ltak ok..
    mane bley suke2 nk amek gmbr kot..

    and no worries bout the comment..

Leave a Reply

