[miscommunication]

It happens to me a couple of times lately. Usually when I’m working with a person of opposite sex. Well, for me, guys are the leaders. I would feel very strange or perhaps awkward as well if I were to ask or reminding them to do something or perhaps approach them first about the matter that we should be discussing. On one hand, I want to get the job done, on the other, I don’t want to be labeled as a ‘busybody’ ,as if they can’t handle their own work. In another situation, I sometimes get confused myself. I am not sure whether he/she is going to do the job or am I suppose to do it and why don’t he/she ask me to do, and I admit I’m afraid to ask. I guess I am kind of a person who is easier to follow rather than give orders or instructions. Well, the bottom line is, I have problems with my communication skills. I never had enough experienced working with persons of opposite sex as for 11 years I’ve been attending all girls schools. And the thing is I don’t have leadership quality in me. Anyhow, whether or not I used to it or whether or not I like it, I have to improve my interpersonal skills. It is one of the skills required in management (application of my BA 304 class) especially since I’ll be involve with business people somewhere in my future..insyaAllah..

*7 days to go…*wink*…..

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. little healer
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 03:27:03

    dear, I understand how you feel.. I feel comfortable being a follower too but a follower with hidden strings.. hehe
    yes.. it is a bit daunting of having to work with guys sometimes but I beleive that you will soon get the hang of it..
    about leadership, I personally think that we all have that quality as we are able to lead ourselves in the right direction. I agree, definitely need to improve on interpersonal skills. *making a mental note to myself 😛

  2. daju
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 10:00:41

    yup..agree..at least as a leader to ourselves..

  3. iamdzu.who.r.u
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 21:59:09

    Guys are leaders? Haha. When I was in MMU, guys were counting on girls for exam tips, assignment tips, presentation. Well, not all guys but some lousy Malay guys who would constantly conveyed ‘ajaran sesat’ to us about academic matters. Bengong.

    I’m always a leader in group assignments and in presentation and I expect my sister to be just like me. 🙂

    PS: ala apsal wordpress. blogger best gak.

  4. daju
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 11:25:01

    xpela..abaikan..

    wordpress la best..blogger..ala..dh rmai org gune..

Leave a Reply

